Chile Photos

Foter / Public domain
Dietmar Temps / Foter / CC BY-NC-SA
Stuck in Customs / Foter / CC BY-NC-SA

[Thanks] Photos from free stock photography – Polish Guide – English Guide



Chile’s financial sector has grown faster than other areas of the economy over the last few years; a banking law reform approved in 1997 broadened the scope of permissible foreign activity for Chilean banks. Domestically, Chileans have enjoyed the recent introduction of new financial tools such as home equity loans, currency futures and options, factoring, leasing, and debit cards.

The introduction of these new products has been accompanied by increased use of traditional instruments such as loans and credit cards. Chile’s private pension system, with assets worth roughly $36 billion at the end of September 2000, has provided an important source of investment capital for the stock market.Chile has maintained one of the best credit ratings in Latin America despite the 1999 economic slump. In recent years, many Chilean companies have sought to raise capital abroad due to the relatively lower interest rates outside of Chile. There are three main ways Chilean firms raise funds abroad: bank loans, issuance of bonds, and the selling of stock on U.S. markets through American Depository Receipts (ADRs). Nearly all of the funds raised go to finance investment. The government is rapidly paying down its foreign debt. The combined public and private foreign debt was roughly 50% of GDP at the end of 2000, low by Latin American standards.

Llullaillaco National Park

chile_794Llullaillaco National Park is a national park of Chile, located 275 km southeast of Antofagasta in the Andes. It lies between the eastern slopes of the Cordillera Domeyko and the international border with Argentina. In the park there are several important mountains that culminate at the summit of Llullaillaco volcano. The park also is characterized by extensive semi-desert plains interspersed by Quebradas. A part of the Inca road system is found in Río Frío area.

The park’s vegetation is dominated by high Andean steppes. In the park have been recorded 126 flora species, 21 of which are endemic to the area.

Herds of vicuñas wander through the park.

Llullaillaco National Park

Llullaillaco National Park – National Park in northern Chile with an area of 2,687 km ², established in 1995.

Park is located in the Andes, less than 300 km south-east of Antofagasty, between the mountains of eastern parties Domeyko a national border with Argentina. It includes a series of mountain peaks, including the active volcano Llullaillaco (6739 m asl) and Cerro Guanaqueros (5131 m), Cerro Zorritas (4274 m), Cerro Bayo (4920 m), Cerro Aguas Calientes (5066 m) Cerro de la Pena (5260 m ).

In the park by the steppe vegetation. Registered in the 126 species of flora, of which 21 are endemic species.

The lack of tourist infrastructure. Within the park are the remains of roads inkaskich which in the past were an important trade route.

Torres del Paine

Torres del Paine – massif belonging to a group of mountainous Cordillera del Paine lies in Chile in Patagonia. It is located 400 km north of Punta Arenas and some 2,500 km to the south of Chile’s capital Santiago de Chile.

Massif consists of three towers of rock:

* South: probably the highest, with a height of about 2500 meters above sea level, acquired by Armando ASTE,
* Middle (2460 m) was acquired in 1963 by Chris Bonington and Don Whillansa,
* North (2260 m): acquired by Guido Monzino.

Not yet been carried out precise measurements of the peak heights, and made measurements are based on estimates and often differ significantly from each other.


Chile is administratively divided into 13 regions, uaX Los Lagos Region. These are numbered north to south. The Region Metropolitana with Santiago as its capital, between the 5.und 6th Region, is not numbered 13th Region.

Chile can be generalized into the following categories landscapes:

* The great north – the large desert areas in the north (Altiplano, Atacama)
* The small north – the Halbwüstengebiete of Los Vilos to around Rio Copiapó
* Central Chile with a Mediterranean climate – the capital region and the regions north and south
* The small south – the Lakes region, the cold rain areas around Puerto Montt, the island of Chiloe group
* The large south – some from Puerto Aisen to Tierra del Fuego

A further breakdown shows through the Andes to Chile from north to south through completely. These are divided into a Küstenkordilliere the big Längstal and the eastern Kordilliere. The big Längstal lowers continuously and disappears south of Puerto Montt completely in the sea, while the Küstenkordilliere the island chains and fjords off the coast of forms.

Administrative division

Chile is divided into 15 regions, each of which is headed by an intendant appointed by the President. Every region is further divided into provinces, with a provincial governor also appointed by the President. Finally each province is divided into communes which are administered by municipalities, each with its own mayor and councilmen elected by their inhabitants for four years.

Each region is designated by a name and a Roman numeral, assigned from north to south. The only exception is the region housing the nation’s capital, which is designated RM, that stands for Región Metropolitana (Metropolitan Region).

Two new regions were created in 2006: Arica and Parinacota in the north, and Los Ríos in the south. Both became operative in October 2007.